Brand Focus: Makeup Revolution

photo 3I have been itching to jump on the Makeup Revolution train for sometime now so £27 and a few weeks of experimentation later I can safely say I am hooked on this dupe inspired, mega-budget, make up junkie cosmetic brand. Read on to find out why.

I got into an email conversation with the brand founder himself. He is beyond passionate about makeup and cosmetics and goes by his pseudonym Mr Makeup. Ask anyone is the industry about Mr Makeup and they know who he is!

He’s no spring chicken to the industry either, indeed Makeup Revolution is his 7th makeup brand, having made cosmetics for many household beauty brands including Revlon. Mr Makeup is passionate about dupes, insisting there is nothing wrong with them, “It is the makeup equivalent of TopShop following the [designer] catwalk”.

IMG_6885My Makeup Revolution Haul

Like all makeup brands there are hero products and then the obligatory filler products (the products brands launch almost as an after thought and wontt ever achieve cult status). I purchased a wide selection of products to test. Let’s get started!

IMG_6868 IMG_6871 IMG_6984Eyeshadow Palettes

Makeup Revolutions hero products are its eye shadow palettes. At £5 a pop and such richly pigmented colours combinations, there is a palette for everyone. I had to tear myself away from the Urban Decay NAKED 3 dupe, Iconic 3 (I already have the original) and instead opted for the Hot Smoked palette, 12 shades, a mix of matte and shimmer. The cobalt blue shadow is deliciously rich with colour, I use a fine liner to blend this along my lash line like liner. How about that plum as well? Perfect for a rich, jewel toned autumn eye.

IMG_6859IMG_6985Left to right: I Fall in Love, What I Believe, Racing Heart

Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquer

Following on from my never ending obsession with matte liquid lipsticks I had to put their Salvation Velvet Lip Lacquers to the test. I chose What I Believe a chalky pink and bright pink fuchsia; I Fall in Love. How much, how much?! I hear you scream… These lipsticks are £3 each, 300 pennies…I ain’t lying.

The formula is creamy and really workable. The formula dries down to a true matte, velvet finish. They come with doe foot applicators and dry quickly. These babies don’t budge at all; I ate 3 donuts in succession (piggy) and the lippie sat on my lips unscathed. For a softer look dab your finger over the first application. For a more dramatic look pair with a similar coloured liner then layer on two layers of product letting it dry in between, for a perfectly coated matte lip that packs a punch.

IMG_6865IMG_6861Ultra Cover & Conceal Palette

I was really drawn to the Ultra Cover & Conceal palette mainly because of the unbelievably low price of £6. I was expecting this product to fall on its face during testing but the consistency is very creamy and perfect for blending together to create the perfect shade. However, I do prefer my concealer to have a bit more weight/coverage behind it. I chose the Light-Medium shade which comes with 8 different shades.

IMG_6880Vivid Blush Lacquer

After enjoying my Estee Lauder Golden Goddess Creme Blusher so much I decided to trial the MR Vivid Blush Lacquer and BOY IS THIS BLUSH POTENT! You need the tiniest smidgen as the colour really is really strong. I trialled O Boy £3; a bright barbie pink, probably too pink for me. Use sparingly or mix with foundation to avoid a scary clown look.

IMG_6878Liquid Liner

I am always on the hunt for a decent liquid liner. Again the stupidly low priced (£1.50) Amazing Liquid Liner really impressed me. The formula is runny enough so you can make the most intricate of points but buildable so you can fill in the gaps without the product caking. I love this liner because I can get into the corners of my eyes and run the flick entirely across the eyelid for a pinpoint-precise, cat-eye flick. I have been using this for 1 month so I can’t comment on the longevity of the product however at £1.50 if it dries up in the next week I ain’t bovvered – this is a beauty steal!

IMG_6882The One

Lipsticks

I chose two traditional bullet style lipsticks from the site. Both are nicely pigmented formulas with a creamy, satin consistency. Aptly named The One, this hint-of-pink nude is my new go to nude lipstick, kindly move over Mac Hue. £1 each (?!@$!!?!?).

The other lipstick is from MR’s diffusion line I ❤ Makeup called Racing Heart and is a dupe of the purple-y pink MAC Rebel, you can see my review here. The application point is the shape of a heart which looks cute but only made application a little bit more challenging.

Mr faceI am wearing Vivid Blush Lacquer in O Boy, Colours 1, 4 & 6 from the Hot Smoked Palette, Amazing Eyeliner and Lipstick in Racing Heart to create this look. Total cost of products used: £10.50

Verdict

I was overwhelmed at how much product I got for such little money. I was ready to be disappointed with the majority of the products but I am seriously impressed with MR. Many products are the same as you would find at higher-end brands as the formulas are long-wearing and highly pigmented. The only complaint would be the packaging is quite cheap and the writing rubs off within a couple of weeks of use.

So what can we expect from Makeup Revolution in the future? Mr Makeup admits, “We want the Topshop/Primark effect. [People can] buy into trends without the expense, mix with your favourite brands and save on your basics. Why waste your money – save or splurge more on your luxury must haves.” There will continue to be be more products launching every month. And at this price we can afford to have them all!

MR is all formula, no frills and is truly a revolution to my bank balance.

Next on my wish list is more Velvet Matte Lip Lacquers in Depravity, Rebel and Vamp, the Awesome Metal Eye Foils and Matte One Blush sticks which are obvious NARS Matte Multiple dupes. 

BLOG SIG

Leave a Reply

