Miceller Waters: Dupes, Rates & Hates

IMG_7091

I thought it was about time I gave my 2-cents on the miceller water hype so here goes…

Miceller’s were one of those products that came into my life and will never leave. I get a little annoyed when I think about the years I wasted relying on a Simple cream cleanser to remove my makeup…every day… for 6 years….Thanks Mum. Being left with sticky, residue-laden skin and traces of makeup left behind is definitely proof that your makeup remover/cleanser is not putting int he over time!

This is where micellers come in; essentially a makeup remover, nothing more, nothing less so don’t expect by making the switch from another remover this will replace your cleanser and toner. Having said that they are excellent at what they do and everybody should use one.

Like many bloggers and industry experts, my favourite miceller water is Bioderma Sensibio H20 Micellar Water. It removes makeup efficiently and is great to use on the eye area. It’s non greasy, alcohol free, soothing and leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed, perfect for sensitive skin like mine. It is also a non-rinse formula, so no need to wash face afterwards.

IMG_7088

Just as Bioderma and I were settling down for the long haul Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water came to town. London town that is and at the jaw droppingly low introductory price of £1.50! It took all my strength not to sweep the shelf load into my basket. Now at it’s RRP of £3.99 for 400ml, Garnier’s miceller offering is getting a lot of industry attention and at a fraction of the cost of Bioderma. I can honestly say there is very little difference between the two.

Garnier’s Miceller Water removes makeup just as quickly as Bioderma however I noticed I need to use more product (about 50% more on my cotton pad). Garnier is also fragrance and alcohol free, non-greasy and great for sensitive skin. The main difference between the two would be the price, Bioderma’s 400ml bottle costs about 400% more and is also less widely available in the UK.

Other Miceller’s

Rate It

vichy

Vichy NormaDerm 3-IN-1 MICELLAR SOLUTION

If you are prone to oily skin concerns I would recommend Vichy NoraDerm 3-IN-1 MICELLAR SOLUTION.  This product is effective and gentle and is an ideal cleanser suitable for imperfection-prone and sensitive skin, purifying and kind to sensitive skin and enriched with Zinc. Although this product was developed with blemish prone skin in mind it will not ease your acne woes, it is a makeup remover only so don’t abandon your cleaner and toner guys.

download

Caudalie Rasin Bio & Camomille Miceller Water

I also really rate the Caudalie Rasin Bio & Camomille Miceller Water which is great for more dehydrated skin as it has glycerine and soothing extracts of Camomille and grape extracts.

Hate It

loreal

L’Oréal Paris Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution

L’Oréal Paris Skin Perfection 3 in 1 Purifying Micellar Solution was an impulse purchase a year ago when I first got in to micellers. I was really disappointed with this product as it left a soapy feeling residue on the skin and didn’t get all the makeup off as I woke the next day with mascara smudges under my eyes. Despite its hypoallergenic claims it was also a tad irritating on my sensitive skin.

Do you swear by Bioderma Miceller waters? Would you give Garnier’s low cost dupe a go? Or have you tried it already? Let me know your thoughts below.

BLOG SIG

5 thoughts on “Miceller Waters: Dupes, Rates & Hates

  1. I’ve been waiting a really long time for a post like this one. Discovered Bioderma which works great for me but the price is crazy! Almost bought the Garnier version at the weekend but didn’t want to risk having another bottle of unused inadequate product sat on my shelf. I’ll for sure be trying it out when the 3 tablespoons of bioderma I’ve been scrounging sparingly finally run out haha. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Caudalie Discovery Kit | Style Lobster

  3. Have you tried the Bioderma Sebium version? I currently use the Garnier micellar but have oily skin so was wondering if it’s any good!

    Like

    • Hi Liz, No I haven’t. I don’t have oily skin so I wouldn’t opt for the sebium range. Most miceller waters are super light anyway so I wouldn’t recommend a sebum reducing miceller – just make sure you don’t use one with glycerin in it as thats an added moisturiser you wouldn’t benefit from.

      Like

Leave a Reply

