MAC Lipsticks: 6 Favourites

image-1

Ahhhhhh, the joy of lipstick. You know what I am talking about, when you find that perfect shade you’ve been hunting high and low for? When you’re feeling a little under the weather or not sure what your outfit is missing and a swipe of colour changes everything!

Lipstick is a powerful tool ladies. photo 1

Today I wanted to share with you my 6 favourite MAC Lipsticks. MAC is a power brand and their lipsticks are the crown jewels. I ALWAYS gravitate towards the lipstick stands before anything else when I enter the MAC store. There is something alluring about the sleek, rounded bullet casing and the tiny but punchy pops of colour peeking out, pulling me in!

photo 1 photo 2

Below you will find my 6-strong shortlist; a mixture of textures and colours, I feel like these beauties are my answer to any outfit or makeup look I decide to do.

photo 3

 

Left to Right: Hue, Double Shot, Scarlet Ibis, Lady Danger, Rebel & Cyber

photo 5

Left to Right: Double Shot, Hue, Lady Danger, Scarlet Ibis, Rebel & Cyber

photo 1-3

Name: HUE

Finish: SATIN

Description: This is my go to nude. For years I really struggled with mastering the nude lip but I finally found solace in this lipstick. HUE has a pinky base and works well on blue and rosey based skin tones. The slightly sheer, gloss finish is the key to perfect this nude lip. I prefer to apply sparingly and dab allover so the colour sits lightly on the lip. This also removes some of the glossiness so it looks a little more matte and ensures no cakiness which only accentuates chapped lips! Remember to use plenty of lip balm before hand!

photo 2-4

DOUBLE SHOT

Finish: SATIN

Description: This is a satin lipstick with a creamy finish. The satin range are the most moisture rich of the MAC Lipsticks. It has a milky chocolate colour with a slight pinkiness to it which works really well with my skin tone. Double Shot is the only brown I wear and I find this lippie really versatile and initially bought it because I was having a babes of the 90’s fan moment. You can read more about how I put this colour to use in my Brown lip 3 ways blog.

THE REDS: When I do a red lip I don’t use just 1 x colour, I use 3. These next two lipsticks are part of the triple threat I use in compiling the perfect red lip!

photo 5-1

SCARLET IBIS

Finish: MATTE

Description: I chose this lipstick as my one purchase from the Iris Apfel x MAC Collaboration in 2011. I really love this colour because it sits on the fence between orange/reds and pink/reds, there is such a fine line!! Either way, it’s a really BOLD hue in every sense of thE word and has the power to perk up the most washed out, tired looking faces.

photo 1-4

LADY DANGER

Finish: MATTE

Description: I went on the hunt for that covetable, tropical orange-red lipstick shade that lots of girls with lovely latino skin seem to pull off so well. I was determined to find an orangey-red that would suit me and this is it. Lady Danger is a red matte lipstick. Like all Mac’s lipstick she is super pigmented and packs a powerful punch. LD is part of my red lipstick trio; I add her last to the centre of my lips when building a red lip to create a 3D effect to the look. Because LD is the lightest of the three reds I use.

photo 3-1

REBEL

Finish: SATIN

Description: Rebel is the newest lipstick to my MAC lineup. I have been coveting this lipstick for ages and when MAC announced that it had returned I didn’t hesitate to snap it up. The colour is difficult to describe, but then that’s what makes me all the more attracted to a lipstick. There is a plummy element but also a fuchsia lurking beneath the darker purple stain. As a one layer lipstick she looks very pink and you really need to build and dab the layers to bring out Rebels darker side, where my next choice comes in….

photo 4-1

CYBER

Finish: SATIN

Description: I had a slight gothic phase at the start of uni, spurned on mostly by my love for my MaryKate Olsen. Cyber is one of the only survivors of that period. A dark almost black purple in the tube, on skin she is a true deep purple. Mixed with Rebel and she marries with Rebels pinkiness to create a multidimensional gradient lip which brings out rebels darker side! Try it!

As you can see most of my favourite MAC lipsticks have grown out of some gorgeous combinations. I love an ombre lip, a gradient lip, experimentation is one of the best things about makeup and I urge you next time you reach for your favourite lippie to look at trying out something new, you might just find the next best thing!

photo 2

 

 

2 thoughts on “MAC Lipsticks: 6 Favourites

  1. Pingback: Brand Focus: Makeup Revolution | Style Lobster

Leave a Reply

