My Blush Collection: Top 3

photo 5

Lately I did a well overdue purge of my blush horde; my stash was getting a tad rouge heavy so I whittled it down to a modest 3. I wanted to share with you my top contenders and why I like these 3 blushes the most.

Firstly, you will notice that all the blushes are baked, powder formulas. I have tried every type of blush and have never gotten on with any except the powder variety. I find cream blushes way too temperamental; I can never seem to control the pigment and get it exactly where I want, like I can with a powder blush and brush. Not to mention how pink my sensitive skin goes when I am working a cream blush into my skin; the pinkness always confuses me as to where I’ve actually put the product! Also, I prefer the combination of my liquid base underneath a powder formula blush – in my opinion it just seems to work better!

photo 3

Best Everyday, All Year Rounder

My top contender for the everyday, all year round blush goes to, Bobbi Brown in Blushed 10 (£19). I am not usually a fan of shimmer in blushes and although Bobbi Brown markets this as a matte blush, it does have a really subtle, lilac looking shimmer running through, although barely noticeable once applied. The hue is a true english rose, reddy-pink, which is why it is the perfect blush for winter skin. Buildable and fresh, the blusher is such a natural colour that you can hardly tell you are wearing blush at all. Just another rosy cheeked maiden, thank you very much!

photo 4

The Perfect Peach Summer Blush

The perfect summer time, peach blush has to go to Collection’s Little Mix Blush It in Perrie (£2.99). I struggled to find a peachy based blush without tons of sparkle and shimmer. Brands seem to think that because these sorts of hues are perfect for summer, they need to be laden with golden pigment! This blush is really matte even though it is the perfect summer peachy hue, which means should you want a shimmery effect you can add this afterwards and control the amount. It would work well on every skin tone too, which is a bonus. At £2.99 everyone can invest.

photo 2

My Wildcard Choice; Because Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

I picked my final blusher because the colour is simply divine! Bare Minerals Ready Blush in The Faux Pas (£22 for 6g) is the ultimate pop of bright girly pink. In the palette it looks rather garish, but when it’s on it gives my face a pretty, pink glow. Use on the apples of the cheeks to avoid having a complete Barbie moment. The formula is a silky matte and the pigment isn’t as strong as the other two blushes, but has a buildable formula. This is a good thing as you want to be able to control how much you use when working with such a bright hue.

photo 1Blush Swatches Left to Right: Bobbi Brown, Collection & Bare Minerals

What will be your go to blush for the summer?

BLOG SIG

 

 

Leave a Reply

