My Paris Birthday Look: Missoni, Dermablend, Sleek

 IMG_1960

IMG_2014

I celebrated my birthday in Paris this year – Ooh La La! I set about organising the trip with diligence and precision. Where would we eat, what would I wear and importantly what make up look did I want to do?

photo 4   photo 1

I was lucky enough to be lent a couple of gorgeous dresses for the occasion by Girl Meets Dress; a genius hire-party-return scheme where you can hire out designer dresses for all your spectacular occasions without breaking the bank! The best thing about a show stopping dress is everyone remembers it, which means I only wear an expensive dress once, maybe twice, which is why GMD is such a great idea when you have champagne taste on a lemonade budget 😉

IMG_1959

photo 3

The Outfit

I took with me a cornflower blue, silk Acne dress and a slinky, backless, Missoni dress. I selected the Missoni one for my birthday night out. Missoni are famed for their knitted prints and this dress had a delightful, subtle sparkle woven into it. The overall effect was a pinky-brown, multi-tonal dress, which skimmed my curves beautifully. I love long sleeves on a mini dress, this worked particularly well with the short length and sexy backless look. Just the right amount of demure and allure!

IMG_1962

 IMG_1961

Missoni Open Back Sweater Dress, £410 (Hire it here) Rivington Clutch by Whistles £45

My party shoes were a black, croc print pair of leather heels with a covered, pointy toe and a spike metal heel, by Topshop, £55. They had T-bar ankle straps which I find really sexy. I love these shoes, but luckily I was in and out of taxi’s all night because these babies start to hurt after a while!

photo 2

IMG_1991

The Face

photo 1-1

Beginning, Middle, Final Result!

Okay beauty geeks this is where it gets exciting because I want to introduce you to my new favourite foundation and concealer combo. French skincare brand recently launched a few more products into their Dermablend line. Dermablend is a makeup range that is specifically  designed to conceal skin imperfections. Of course that means the odd blemish or dark circle but primarily serious skin complaints like acne scarring, birth marks, rosacea and even tattoos! I was initially interested in this product because I suffer for sensitive skin which can be prone to sudden redness that comes on when I experience temperature change, dry my face with a towel or even have a glass of wine. But don;t let your lack of (serious) skin complaints put you off because, as I found out, this range is highly versatile and build able making it great for all skin types wanting to look their best.

cropped-most-lusted-stamp.jpgphoto 2

L to R: Vichy Dermablend Concealer & Foundation

photo 4

L to R Colour Swatches: Foundation & Concealer

Concealer: Dermablend Corrective Stick in Nude 25, SPF 30, £15

It comes in a shiny black twisty tube and the product is angled so it has a targeted applicator. It applies thick but is very malleable and smooth. I moved it around my face, dabbing and blending, building and reducing the coverage where necessary (mostly around my T-zone and under eye area). It covered (with ease) everything: spots, dark circles, redness and pores. As you can see in the swatch above the concealer comes out darker than the foundation. When I re-buy I will be going down one shade.

The best thing about this product is that it didn’t look cakey, nor did it crack for the entire evening. After a glass of wine my nose gets bright red and tends to shine. This product ensured my make up was even for up to 6 hours, and that was through a 3 course dinner! This is now my go to concealer.

Buy Me

9/10

photo 1-2

Foundation: Dermablend Corrective Fluid Foundation in Nude 25, SPF 35, £17

Having been so impressed with my sample of Dermablend Corrective stick I went to a French pharmacy and bought the matching foundation. I chose the corresponding colour Nude 25 which looked slightly lighter than its sister concealer shade.

I did not expect the foundation to as flexible on the skin as it was. This foundation is used to cover minor to moderate skin imperfections so I was expecting a product that looked thick and matte. The texture is lovely and light but highly pigmented – a really well executed balance! It blended really well and created a natural looking finish which I was really pleased with. I am favouring a matte face these days and this product didn’t disappoint, it kept shine at bay for 6 hours and worked as a terrific base for my blush and bronzer.

Edit: I would like to add that I wear a shade darker than my skin tone.

Buy Me

9/10

Together these 2 are a great piece of kit. Don’t be put off if you don’t suffer from skin imperfections; if you like a natural looking matte foundation that doesn’t cake, has terrific staying power and works as a great base for the rest of your makeup then invest!

Rest of Face

photo 3

Sleek FACE FORM Contouring Palette in Light 373, £10: 3-in-1 Bronzer, Highlighter, Blush.

For the remainder of my face I used my Sleek Face Form palette, which I use pretty much everyday! It is perfect for travelling because it’s a 3-in-1. Out of the 3 products in the palette my favourite is the matt contour powder, really pigmented s you only need a tiny dab on your brush, no orange hue or sparkle here! Perfect for creating those kate Moss cheekbones! I brush mine under my cheeks and swirl up onto the temples. A light dusting goes down either side of the tip of my nose and along the jawline.

photo 3

L to R: Bronzer, Highlighter, Blush

The highlighter is good. I dust this along the tops of my cheekbones, on my forehead, on the brow bone and run some down the middle of my nose to create a light glow.

The blusher is a Nars Orgasm dupe which is so highly pigmented you need to be really careful when applying otherwise the 3 products combined can become bit caked and create that greyish hue you see on girls wearing WAY too much face paint. GO EASY! I prefer a matte blush personally, but if you love Nars Orgasm then this is a good, cheap alternative.

8/10

Brows

photo 5

Benefit Browzings Palette in Dark, £24.50

Benefit Browzings Palette in Dark: a square kit which I use daily to fill in or change the shape of my brows. It’s sleek and compact, comes with 2 little brushes and tweezers, a mirror and has a wax (for shaping) and a powder (to fill in). I have been using this for years and I have yet to find anything superior.

9/10

Eyes

photo 1

photo 2

L to R: All over base colour, Eyelid colour, Socket contour colour

Palette: Collection Smokey Eye Palette in NUDE, £3.99. I love this versatile, budget buy. It creates several different eye looks with step by step on the back so even an eye shadow novice can nail the trend. It’s not great for travelling but I brought it because out of all my palettes it is the most versatile. Read the full review here. I used eye shadows 1 for base, 2, for middle lid and 3, in the socket.

photo 2

Eyeliner: MUA Liquid Eyeliner in Black, £1. I finished with a flick of liquid eyeliner. I tried out MUA’s liquid eyeliner. I was impressed with the thin nib but on application the formula really let me down. I really struggled to get a smooth and consistent line with this product. It dries fast but as soon as you go back into extend the flick the product crumbles off! I don’t know anyone that can create the perfect feline flick in one stroke. It is not even worth the £1 price tag. You can budget on some things but not liquid eyeliner.

1/10

Lashes: a quick sweep of my go to mascara Clarins Instant Definition Mascara in Black, £18.50. Every woman in my family uses this mascara.! It’s inky and has a duo shaped brush for controlling the volume and length of your lashes.

7.5/10

Lips

photo 5

photo 1

L to R: L’Xtrait 1 stroke & 1 stroke blended/stained

Lips: I wasn’t sure wether to go with a nude or pink lip and settled on a pinky, berry stain. The  Guerlain L’Xtrait liquid matte lipstick in Orgueil is getting A LOT of air tme on my blog recently – what can I say, J’Adore!! Read the full review here. I always eat off my lipstick at dinner (oops) so I went with this low manitence, subtle pink stain, which I created with by dab-blend-dab-blend finger technique (see above). You just need a few drops of this delicious, liquid lipstick. Subtle, sexy, low maintenance, bring on the food!

7.5/10

Hope you enjoyed reading up on how I put together my Birthday Loook! More parisian blogs on thief way. Have a great easter weekend everyone!

BLOG SIG

 

2 thoughts on “My Paris Birthday Look: Missoni, Dermablend, Sleek

  1. Pingback: My Birthday in Paris | Style Lobster

Leave a Reply

