My City Break Skincare Kit: The Essentials

photo 2April is one of my favourite months because it is my birthday and I am surrounded by love and showered with presents and this year didn’t disappoint! I was a lucky girl and got whisked away to Paris with my boyfriend to spend four adventurous and romantic days in the city of Love!

photo 1In my biker gear. 

I don’t know about you but when I think of Paris I think of chic, French ladies, small cafes filled with animated Parisians, drinking red wine and smoking cigarettes. Delicious French food and delectable wines comes to mind as well. But in true beauty blogger form I was most excited about getting my hands on some French skincare! My pharmacy shopping trip was booked in for our last day, so I made sure I packed my beauty bag with some skincare essentials to see me through our holiday, until haul day!

photo 1The Kit

When it comes to packing your skincare regime for your travels, city breaks and beach breaks need to be addressed differently. For city breaks you need to consider pollution, weather changes, as well as sun protection. Not to mention the amount of wine and cocktails I drank! By the next morning last nights over indulgences were written all over my face! It’s all about getting the most out of your products and picking the ones that will work the hardest for you.

Paris is known for it’s pollution and we were travelling there in the spring which meant the weather would be either hot, cold or both!

photo 3Vichy Purete Thermale 3 in 1 One step Cleanser, £11 at Boots

Cleanser: I chose the Vichy Purete Thermale 3 in 1 One step Cleanser for my trip. A well known French brand, which I am relatively new to but have totally fallen for. More on this brand in a later blog post.

This cleanser is really great for travelling because it is a Cleansing milk, Toner and Eye make-up remover all in 1, which means that’s 2 less bottles I need to pack, as well as saving me time. What I also love about this brand is that they take sensitive skin really seriously and offer a really great selection of products for those that suffer. I spent a lot of time on the back of a Vespa with cold city air whipping my face, needless to say I needed something strong enough to wipe away the day grime efficiently without sacrificing the texture and feel of my face.

My face felt baby soft after using this product and totally soothed from the harsh air, no stripping or drying despite being a 3 in 1 product either. And for £11 for 200ml I think that is a pretty sweet deal.

8/10

 photo 4Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum, £17 at most good pharmacies.

Serum: I chose to take my Vichy Aqualia Thermal Serum with me to Paris. It is wise to take products you know work well together as you will have to leave most of your skincare arsenal at home! Again, a wonderful product for sensitive skin and is Paraben-free too. The scent is very fresh and the product absorbs quickly, which was great when I was taking off the days makeup and quickly reapplying, before we dashed out for dinner and evening frivolities! A little bit of this product goes a long way, 1 little blob and I can cover my whole face and neck. Aqualia also kept my dry patches at bay the whole holiday, despite putting my face through plenty of environmental aggressors, booze and frequent makeup changes! I love this product so much I have ditched my YSL Youth Liberator Serum and this now takes pride of place in my daily regime.

9/10

photo 5Essential – C Day Moisturiser, £57, Essential-C Sun Balm Broad Spectrum SPF 35 | PA+++, £19.50

Daily Moisturiser: I love Murad. Anyone who reads my blog will know this, so I was really pleased when I attended the launch of their new Murasol sun protection products because we were gifted with loads of little miniatures – perfect for my travels! I always find it hard to predict the weather in April so it was important I packed adequate sun care should we be blessed with sunny weather! I chose to take along my favourite Essential – C Day Moisturiser. This beauty has an environmental shield built in as well as SPF 30 and Murasol protection. Perfect for when it was boiling hot one minute then it would cloud over and I was being blasted with 40 mile an hour winds on the back of a Vespa. Needless to say the Paris traffic can be a nightmare, so I spent a few minutes a day sat behind bus exhausts at traffic lights too. This was my shield against all the damaging and ageing UV rays, free-radical damage, dehydration and pollution. I am not keen on the smell of this product (it’s a bit sun blocky smelling) however I can forgo that seeing as it is a great piece of kit!

7/10

Sun Balm: Remember what I said about coordinating your products? For that little extra sun protection when the sun did decide to shine I popped my Essential – C Sun Balm SPF 35+++ onto those areas that catch the sun more. I used it on my boyfriend as well and when we took out bikes it went on the backs of my hands to and prevented burning!

7/10

photo-14Avene Cold Cream Lip Cream, £12.25, 15ml

Lip Balm: No girl razzing around on a Vespa is without a decent lip balm. My holiday hero was my Avene Cold Cream Lip Cream for severe dryness. It offers antioxidant protection against free radicals like pollution. This provided me with a thick layer of protection throughout my holiday and ensured my lips were nice a supple for lipstick application in the evening. The only downside is I had to apply it quite a few times throughout the day, would have preferred if it had lasted a little longer on the lips.

6/10

photo 5 photo 4

More Paris posts will be up on the blog soon including; my Birthday Night: Makeup looks, Outfit and Dinner and The French Pharmacy Haul.

BLOG SIG

 

3 thoughts on “My City Break Skincare Kit: The Essentials

  1. I have just booked a trip to Paris in January. After reading this post my next steps will be to purchase the Vichy products you recommended. Thanks Emily!

    Like

Leave a Reply

