Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait: Liquid Lipstick Review

photo 2G041338_2

Guerlain was one of those cosmetics brandS that I have left unexplored, until now. I recently received a wonderful selection of products to try out and there have been a few that have comfortably settled themselves into a permanent place in my makeup bag.

Like most beauty bloggers, I am obsessed with lipsticks! I don’t tend to wear a lot of makeup everyday (usually out of laziness) so I am a massive fan of a strong lip that has the power to transform the face in a swipe of colour.

photo 1photo 3

First Impressions

Most of my lipsticks come in the traditional form of a bullet applicator and cap. Twist. Apply, Twist and re-cap. I’m not going to lie when I pulled out the Guerlain Rouge G L’Extrait I was completely fascinated. What a weighty piece of kit! The case is something to write home about for sure. A silver mirrored, expensive looking, bullet-style casing. It looks like a James Bond gadget, which ironically, the ladies at Guerlain nicked named it “The James Bond Lipstick” when it was first released. I feel like if Angelina Jolie was to use one lipstick for the rest of her life, this would be it because I feel so damn slick using it, that is once I mastered the mechanism! Opening this lipstick was easy, tug and twist. Closing it however was a different matter entirely! I spent 5 minutes trying to force it back into it’s case, close to tears that I might break this beautiful artefact. This definitely takes some mastering. The Rouge L’Extrait is marketing as a liquid lipstick so it has a doe foot shape, like a lipgloss.

photo-11photo 1

Texture & Scent

The texture is velvety, slightly sticky and very pigmented. The lipstick is opaque on its first swipe. It isn’t moisturising but it isn’t drying either which can happen often happen with matte finishes. Like all of Guerlains products the scent is divine, expensive smelling with vanilla floriental notes and rose heart notes.

photo 2

Application

There are  two ways to apply this lipstick (a day and night look). If you want the full-coverage, opaque look then you need to apply carefully, manipulating the formula around the lipline then filling in the middle. The other way, which is a lot easier is to have a petal stained lip look. This takes half as much product and skill in application. Use your fingers to pat the product over your pout for a perfect petal stained lips. One thing that was a nuisance was this colour never dried fully. It transferred onto everything my mouth touched whilst wearing it, needless to say my boyfriend isn’t a fan.  One to save for a girls night out then,lawl.

photo 3

Verdict

Despite a few niggles with this product my overarching verdict is positive! I really bloody love this lipstick, mostly down to the way it looks on my lips and the beautiful packaging. I feel so sexy in this colour, which is ORGUEIL, by the way. The blue undertones suit my pale skin and it’s deep plumminess is just the right amount of vamp for a red lip. Guerlain Rouge L’Extrait is pure seductress. Vanity wins again…

Leave a Reply

