Opening Ceremony x Vans x Rene Magritte: Surreal Collab

OC_1080_magritte_VANS_homesplash_030714

Okay, so I have been kind of absent from the blog last week only because I am creating 3 new collections for my other business, The Lacquer Lab, lots of and fine tuning and endless shoot manicures! Busy busy. I have just seen an IG post from a stylish friend which has promoted a flurry of excited blog typing on my iPhone no less; a mouthwateringly surreal collab with Hipster fashion brand Opening Ceremony x Vans x Rene Margritte. I can hear the heart palpitations already my friend.

03_schiaparelli_dali_womans_dinner_dress_1937

The Lobster Dress by Elsa Shiaparelli

art-dresses_675527n

An Art Retrospective By YSL, 1998

I love a bit surrealism art on clothes and designers have been putting art on to garments for decades, think the iconic Lobster Dress by 30’s designer by Elsa Shiaparelli. And time and time again I have fallen for many an art inspired garment only to put it on, not be able to carry it off and decide it looks better pinned to a wall. Art inspired fashion pieces are bold, eye catching and I personally feel you need a tall and very slight frame in order to carry them off successfully. This is why Opening Ceremonies new collaboration really excites me! Surrealist, Belgian born artist, Rene Margritte has had some her most iconic, delightfully weird and playful works (dating from the 30’s – 50’s) infused  onto SHOES! And not just any shoes, the classic canvas lace ups, Vans. Never fear if you aren’t a lace up shoes kinda gal, Opening Ceremony have checked all the boxes and collaborated with 2 other well known shoes brands, Birkenstock (touted to be the shoe of the summer) and stiletto legend Manolo Blahnik.

img_4851 magritte_promo1_0

According to a statement by Opening Ceremony, this capsule collection “continues a theme that Magritte was most interested in: extreme juxtapositions between combinations of objects, and the ordinary versus the abstract.”

OC have beautifully printed Margrittes designs onto the classic Pro Sneaker. My boyfriend loves in his Vans and religiously replaces one pair after the next. I keep meaning to get myself a pair each summer but the designs (leopard, spotty, metallic) have left me cold until now…

It’s my birthday just round the corner and I have my eye on this pair: the lightest, the brightest, the weirdest.

Vans-x-Opening-Ceremony-Magritte-Collection-07-620x400

vans-x-opening-ceremony-magritte-collection-01

The Opening Ceremony x Magritte collection is currently available at Opening Ceremony retail stores, openingceremony.us and will be available to international markets by May 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

