My Hair Heros: The Perfect Mid-Length Bombshell Blowdry

photo 1

So, I manned up and went for the chop a little over a month ago now and I am in love with my new mid-length, Clavicut! Some of you may have also decided to freshen up your look with a mid-length cut, if so well done girl, you are now far more stylish than your long haired buddies.  The Clavicut looks great with beachy waves or a more sleek tonged look, however, you may be lamenting the loss of a big bouncy blow dry you once achieved with long hair? Never fear because a voluminous, bombshell look is still totally achievable!

My ultimate Hair Heroes Kit consists of a simple selection of products I use to achieve a sleek finish with maximum oomf from my mid length locks, including a secret elixir I use!

photo 5

Clockwise, left to right: Big Barrelled Round brush, Sally’s (circa £7), 3 mid sized velcro rollers at any pharamacy , A hairdryer with nozzle, BaByliss Long Life Pro at Amazon (£25), FrizzEase Serum from Boots (£6.29), Kérastase Resistance Ciment Thermique, from Feel Unique (£16.60), L’Oréal Paris Elnett Satin Hairspray So Sleek Extra Strength (Boots, £2.50, 75ml).

I have wavy, fine hair with a lot of volume; which equals flyways unless they are tamed in an appropriate manner. I need the products I use to work with my volume, not against it, whilst smoothing down the follicles and manipulating the strands into sexy bends. 

photo 4

After washing my hair I towel dry and apply a small dob of Frizz Ease Thermal Protection Formula by John Frieda (Boots, £6.29) into my palm and warm the product between my fingers. I then rub it through my mid lengths to ends. Frizz Ease has been around for years and was one of the fist serums to come to market – I remember my mum using it in the 90’s! This product is great and has been a cult fav for decades I know women that try other serums but continually come back to this one, so if aint broke don’t fix it!


photo 3

My second hair hero is a lovely product from Kérastase: Resistance Ciment Thermique Heat-Activated Reconstructor Milk Level 1-4 125ml, (Feel Unique £16.60). This is great product for hair that is weakened and damaged and breaks easily. This milky hair protector strengthens and protects whilst heat styling. It has a lightweight, delicious smelling formula which absorbs fast. For mid length hair I used a 20p size dob, remember you already have the serum in, so go easy!

I have just seen that on the product description it does say this product can be layered with other leave in treatments for “optimal protection”. These are both good products on their own but it is the combination of the two that creates some sort of magic hair elixir! I used both products alone several times before my sister Jessica advised me to combine the two –  I have never looked back! Thanks sista!

It also makes blow drying time half the work.

photo 1

Importantly a good blow dry requires the right tools, so a round brush and blowdryer are essential, but these products won’t be able to do their thang unless you have sufficiently prepared your hair with this winning combo.

photo 2

When drying the hair, it needs to be attacked in 4 sections: 1st the bottom 3rd of your hair, 2nd the middle 3rd of your hair and then the crown area (top 3rd)  is sectioned into back and font sections. Blow dry the sections by drying the roots first then rolling the brush inwards and outwards from the scalp whilst concentrating the stream of hot air downwards, always. Dry the sections as you move around your head alternating between blowing the ends under then outwards. This will help create more movement in the final look. When I approach the crown area, after blow drying each section I pop it in a velcro roller to give it extra oomf if I have time. Spritz with L’Oréal Paris Elnett Satin Hairspray So Sleek Extra Strength (Boots, £2.50, 75ml) and pull the rollers out just before leaving the house.

Results baby!

photo 2photo 3

BLOG SIG

 

Leave a Reply

