Isabel Marant AW 2014: PFW Highlight

photo 2 photo 1

Ahh Isabel; when my life gets too black and white, structured and minimalist you swoop in and remind me how to be a bohemian rock goddess. I have long been a devotee of Parisian designer Isabel Marant’s clothing, snapping up everything i could get when her diffusion line dropped in H&M, my poor bank balance. Her approach to fashion is always as believable in the stores as it is on the catwalks. It may not be jaw droppingly fashion but it is timeless, sexy and comfortable, not many high end designers can claim to be all 3.

photo 4 photo 5

On the Paris catwalk one trend which was fairly dominant was large shoulders. Balmain fully got behind this trend back in 2008 and made it into a really chic, modern and wearable form of power dressing. Subsequently all my blazers have structured shoulders. Marants oversized, masculine shoulder scares me a little bit. She’s brought it back and channeled a boyish vibe; the classic marant tomboy. I am struggling to envisage this trend on myself as I am quite petite at 5’6 and this will most likely drown my frame. However, mar ant showed some downscaled versions on the runway in the form of a black silk wrapped blazer (see below). Also I think the shorter folks may be able to channel this look by layering (see the shearling gilets) instead of committing to a frame-swamping blazer.

photo 3 photo 2

The remainder of her collection was full of texture: shearling, leather, tweed and sequins again blurring the lines between day and night time dressing. The palette was full of sludgey greens and browns, blacks and dark blues. My favourite look was this one below which felt very bohemian ala Kate Moss at Glasto.

photo 3 photo 4

www.isabelmarant.com

BLOG SIG

Leave a Reply

