Shopping Haul: February 2014

As somebody who considers retail therapy top of their list of therapies to indulge in (drinking and eating being the other two) I consider this months shopping haul fairly conservative.

If you have indulged in a little R&R (retail rehabilitation) this month then you may have found yourself torn between the need for winter garms to combat the windy weather and at the same time tempted by the first bright hues and rising hemlines of the summer lines trickling into store. Trans-seasonal shopping can be an exhausting affair of indecisisiveness and I am about as indecisive as they come!

This is what I invested in this month.

photo 2

Monki is one of my favourite everyday retailers, not only for its scnadinaviian inspired basics but its low price point as well. I am a massive fan of the Hennes & Moritz fashion portfolio; who gives us Scandi fashion brands like, Cos, & Other Stories, H&M, Cheap Monday and Monki.

photo 1

I had a bit of an Indigo moment in Carnaby Streets Monki last weekend and picked two pieces which will work amazingly together and separately. I bought a deep navy Adelaide Knitted Top, £30, which I was drawn straight towards after coveting Whistles silk navy, thin, white pinstripe checked smock top from last season, but at £100 Monki’s version was a steal! I love the oversized tailoring and drop shoulder seams. The stretch wristband and neckline give it a sports luxe feel. I am going to wear this with high waisted jeans, or tailored menswear trousers for a smarter look.

photo 5

I also got jeans. I want to stop right here and explain that  I find it really difficult to find jeans that agree with my shape. I have a tiny waist but I’m quite full around the bum and hips (cheers MUM!). I’m told it’s called an A shape and I’m often left with gaping waistbands or not being able to get the jeans past my hips. Monki has just released a Jean called the O Cropped Jean – I think it’s love.

photo 4

The O Crop is this seasons perfect jean! It is high waisted, of course, in a traditional denim feel and is cropped right above the ankle so it sits neatly on top of your ankle boots! These jeans work perfectly for me because I am almost 5’6ft and I’m often left wondering what to do with the extra 3 inches of jean bunching up in my boots.  They are tight and suck you in but they have stretch too so you can pig out at lunch and not need to pop that top button. GENIUS! Because they are £35 a pop I am going back for the black pair.

photo 4

I rarely shop in Miss Selfridge, usually favouring its sister brand, Topshop, however I popped into Oxford St branch with my sister when she was exchanging something and ended up dropping £59.

photo 3£22 when I bought these, now £19 in the sale!

I was drawn to these Ren Mesh Flat Point pumps firstly because of the monochrome palette and second because of the interesting mix of textures; white faux snakeskin and black mesh. I adore both fabrics so Er, I’ll take em! Also I cannot remember the last time I bought a pair of pumps. The generic styles on the high street are pretty bland but when I saw these it was LOVE.

Okay, so remember those bright colours and short hemlines I was talking about earlier well this might have  happened…

most lusted stampphoto

But isn’t it the most mouth-wateringly, tropical delight of a dress you ever did see? That red is so bright I already have the perfect matching nail lacquer for it (Cancun Hot by TLL) and I love the splashes of fuchsia and aqua on the hibiscus flowers. It has a nipped in waist, delicate capped sleeves and a cut out back panel. The Tear Drop dress is available in petite for £37.

photo 1photo 2

I may not be wearing this dress until my holiday to Paris in April but I simply needed to inject a bit of colour into my winter neutrals. Let’s just say my wardrobe is now a happier place.

BLOG SIG

Leave a Reply

