Blue Eye Makeup: SS 14 Trend Trialed

Blue coloured cosmetics take me back to when I first starting wearing makeup and I mistakenly thought that because  had blue eyes, blue eye shadow was the one for me #fail. I have avoided blue makeup since the 90’s and usually opt for coppers and brown shades. However, spring summer 2014 makeup trends have made me reconsider this look. I may be doing a 180 on my relationship with blue.

Image

Models at the Marc Jacobs SS 14 show. Photo By GoRunway

Of all the blue-eye makeup looks I have seen trending, my favourite was the sharp and pointy eyeliner look seen at Marc Jacobs Spring/Summer 2014 show, by make-up artist François Nars. I felt this look was probably  the most versatile for most faces. As much as I love the bold, blue shadow look on the model below, you just know that you will have a headfit trying to get the shape that perfect, only to end up looking like you had a punching fight with a Smurf.  Some things should just stay on the catwalk.

Image

By Path McGrath

For this look I used my Contour Clubbin eyeliner in Bleu Neon by Bourjois, £4.99. It’s quite a soft pencil so I had to re-sharpen it a few times to get the points, pointy enough. Trace the pencil around the top and bottom waterline. I went in a tad heavy handed on the lower lash as I wanted some of the product to graze the lower lids. I then finished with flicks in each eye corner. I paired the look with dewy skin (Bobbi Brown Moisture Rich in Warm Beige) and a little highlighter along the cheek bones (Benefit High Beam, £19.50). I then used lashings of mascara (Clarins Instant Definition in black, £21)  to further draw attention to the eyes.

photo 1 photo 2

Click on the images to see this look close up.

What are your thoughts on the electric blue against green eyes? Would any of you green eyed goddesses give it a go?

BLOG SIG

Leave a Reply

